What Climbing a Mountain Taught Me

You may have clicked on this thinking that I literally climbed a mountain, or did some extreme backpacking adventure. If that’s what you’re expecting, let me lower your expectations of me a little bit.

No, I did not climb that kind of mountain. To me, this was climbing a mountain, but to others, I’m an amateur who has no clue what I’m talking about.

Flat Top Mountain is no easy hike, despite the short distance. Up until this point, I had never done a hike like this and I learned quite a bit on the trek.Processed with VSCO with c8 preset

It’s okay to take breaks.

Believe me. We took our fair share of breaks on this hike. Don’t feel bad about it and don’t beat yourself up whenever someone passes you. We had all sorts of people passing us, some were running up the hill and looked ten times fitter than I will ever look and some were little nine year old kids (I won’t lie, that was a little embarrassing). Anyway, as frustrating as it was to have a little boy climb past you on those rocks, it’s important to remember that you can’t determine how successful you are by comparing your successes to other’s successes. This reminder goes for both when hiking a mountain and any other circumstance. If it’s a success for you, then it is one more amazing step up that staircase. Stop looking at what everyone else is doing and keep doing you.Processed with VSCO with c8 preset

It’s easier with friends.

Trust me, if anyone enjoys their alone time it’s me. I’m a crazy introvert and I’ve always had that independent look on life (which is awesome) where I say, “I’ll do it myself”. This experience would not have been the same if it weren’t for the people. Who else but your friends can you laugh with when you almost fall off a cliff. (don’t fall off a cliff, some of my friends are really dumb). If you’re laughing your way through something tough with the right people there to support you, it makes it way easier. And who doesn’t need the comic relief?

Pick the right clothes.

Don’t wear Vans, pick reasonable shoes. Don’t wear jeans, that’s not a good idea. I won’t call anyone out but… let’s just say they were most likely to fall off the cliff.

Processed with VSCO with e1 preset

It’s better in person.

This seems pretty self explanatory but it is so much better in person. liking a picture of it on Instagram will never satisfy you. You need to go out and do these things. We live on this gorgeous earth and there is so much beauty around us so stop stalking travel accounts on Instagram (@me) and go do something. Explore the city closest to you, go on a hike, go find some gorgeous views. You have no real excuse not to.

If you ever find yourself in Anchorage, Alaska, I definitely recommend this hike. If you don’t, there is a ton near you to explore.

Here are my favorite moments captured.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

